Zonked out…..

Phew!! Last day of the A to Z Challenge. Honestly I am completely totally absolutely ZONKED OUT!!

clock woman

Image courtsey Google Images

I spent everyday wracking my brain to write something corresponding to the letter….everyday as the new letter loomed with the dawn break, I would start thinking about it. The LETTERS played with me as if I was a wind-up toy!!

After finishing the routine chores of the house, I would sit with laptop on my lap(…of course!) and start typing something then around 3:00 pm the sleep-demon would lure me to bed and my words on the screen would jumble up poking each other till the spell-check also gave up on correcting the mistakes!

An hour of sleep later, freshened up I would be again busy with kitchen chores….Eventually I would sit with my laptop again at around 9:00pm and by that time whatever I had already written would seem so irrelevant to me that I trashed it and write all over again!! Very slow at typing, it would take me forever to first think of the words and  then type them in logical sequence……

By then my poor husband would go off to sleep waiting for me to cuddle up near him….Alas!! Whole of the month he was deprived of touching my to-die-for soft, pearly dewy rose-scented skin! Actually, he is more relieved than I am!

I am happy I survived the challenge and in the bargain chronicled some parts of our vacation in America and realized that I could write 500 words everyday, if I really wanted to…. So may-be I will begin that story which I have meant to since some time now.

sleepBut for now, my daughter is at school….husband is out of town….I have finished all my daily chores…. so I will surrender to the sleep-demon who stands there near the softest pillow tapping his foot with impatience… And as Scarlett O’ Hara would have quipped…

“After all, tomorrow is another day”…I vow to carry on.

About shoma abhyankar

I like to believe that I am a creative person. I read, write, paint, sketch, rustle up some quick and some elaborate meals for friends and family, love chess, su-doku and scrabble, can hum an old Hindi song tentatively, always stand up for women rights, hate fake people, bugs, roaches, spiders and cigarette smokers!! I graduated with a degree of Bachelor of Architecture in 1998. Soon after, I married an officer in Indian Air Force and have been on move since then. For a brief time of two years when we were posted in Pune, I worked as a junior architect in a firm. Being aware of frequent movement that we would have to live with, I chose to be a homemaker and concentrated on creating a warm and welcoming home for my family. But sitting at home without any creative activity was not my cup of tea. I learnt candle making and soon put up an exhibition at Poona Club when my daughter was barely a year old. I also enjoyed a short stint as a home-based entrepreneur, supplying chocolates and cakes on demand, while we were posted in Bareilly. With an inclination towards writing, I completed a diploma in ‘Creative Writing in English’ from Symbiosis College of Distance Learning, Pune. Then I discovered the blogosphere. Now I hope to not only travel and share my experiences with the world but also to pen a book someday....
This entry was posted in A to Z Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Zonked out…..

  1. teny says:

    Congrats on finishing the challenge 🙂
    The best I can reach with such a challenge is a maximum of four or five posts 😀

    Like

  2. LOL! Zonked, yup…

    You rock! Congrats on getting to the letter Z! Reminder: there will be an A to Z Reflections round on May 4th IF you’re recovered and want to participate. There will be a Linky for it on the main blog, so please look for it there! Please post your reflections on the challenge, visit others, and catch up on the blogs you didn’t have time to read!

    Team Macha, Helping Co-Host Zalka
    Maui Jungalow

    Like

  3. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Congrats on finishing the challenge, Shoma! And absolutely loved reading the above post! 🙂

    Like

  4. lilicasplace says:

    Congratulations on completing the Challenge! This was my first year participating and I’m stoked that I finished too. Have a great day. Eva, Minion from Lisa’s Live Wires

    Like

  5. Bal Abhyankar says:

    Nice finish of A to Z chalange… CONGRATULATIONS.

    Like

Your Opinion Matters....

